Are you ready for transition?

ISO 14001

Do you have ISO 14001:2004 but need to transition?

Certification Europe now only certifies organisations to ISO 14001:2015. The quality management standard was last updated in 2004. Prior to 2015, ISO 14001 was last updated in 2004 a new common structure called Annex SL has been adopted across ISO standards that allows for a more flexible approach to implementing and integrating standards across industries. Deadline for organisations that are certified to the 2004 standard have until September 2018 to update to the new version of the standard.

Main changes in ISO 14001:2015

  • Revised structure in line with other standards, including ISO 9001:2015
  • Strengthening of the relationship between core organisation and environmental management systems
  • Requirement to consider environmental performance in the organisation’s strategic planning
  • Greater ownership of the EMS placed on top level management
  • Risks and opportunities must be assessed and managed in-line with best practice guidelines, ISO 31000
  • Life-cycle perspective on environmental impact across entire supply chain
  • Greater requirements in evaluating compliance
  • Emphasis on ensuring the quality and credibility of environmental information

ISO 14001:2015 Transition Policy

If you would like to download Certification Europe’s transition policy please click the link below.

LinkedIn LinkedIn

Certification EU

Block 20A, Beckett Way
Parkwest Business Park
Dublin 12
D12 P8R2


Telephone: +353 1 642 9300